Peace and Security Council (PSC)

The Protocol Relating to the Peace and Security Council (PSC) of the African Union entered into force on 26 December 2003, after being ratified by the required majority of Member States of the AU. It is made up of fifteen Member States.

In order to fully assume its responsibilities for the deployment of peace keeping and quick intervention Missions to assist in cases of genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity, the Peace and Security Council could consult a Panel of the Wise comprising of five African personalities so as to take action on the distribution of the military on the field. 

Functions of the PSC
a) It is responsible for the promotion of Peace, security and stability in Africa;
b) Preventive diplomacy and the maintenance of peace;
c) Management of catastrophes and humanitarian actions;
d) It is intended to replace the Central Organ of the Mechanism for the prevention, management and regulation of conflicts in Africa, created in 1993 by Heads of States during the Summit in Tunis.